My Food Journey…The Early Years

If you’re following me on twitter, you’ve probably noticed I’ve been talking about food more than usual. I know…is that really possible? Yes…yes it is.

You see…11 days ago I made a significant change in my diet. 100% plant-based. That’s right. I quit dairy cold tur…tofurky? Whatever. The straw that broke the camel’s back was meeting Matt Frazier: Boston marathoner, Burning River 100 finisher, author of No Meat Athlete, and all-around cool guy. But I’ll get to that in an upcoming post.

I’ve been getting a lot of questions about this decision. Most people know that I was a vegetarian for the last five years. It’s been great…mostly. I still had some dairy sensitivities, but I was happy. Maybe I should start there. 20131023-095451.jpg
My third child, a daughter was born five years ago this past July. I wasn’t running…at all. I weighed 190lbs. My diet was a train wreck. And I didn’t care. What I did care about were these terrible migraines I was getting everyday. I visited my primary care doctor (then my OB/GYN), who referred me to a neurologist. I was scared. A neurologist? Something is wrong with my brain? Great. Panic settled in. I was convinced I had a brain tumor. Now I’m not sleeping and the migraines are getting worse as a result. He tried a bunch of pills: pills as a preventative, pills to take when you think you’re getting a migraine. Really? When I think I’m getting one? I have one now just thinking about what that feels like. Pop. Pop. This is not working.

Next step: MRI. See…I told you I have a brain tumor. We’ll see it on the scans.

Side note: Have you ever had an MRI? Of your head? I had one of my legs while I was in the Army. This was WAY more terrifying. They put your head in this cage and tell you not to move. That loud noise…is right by your head! I’ve seen enough sci-fi movies to know what happens next. Start panicking…but don’t move. And another migraine.

As if something could be worse, I now had to wait for the scans to be read. “If you could just point to the tumor…” Ok…there was no tumor. Everything was normal. But I didn’t feel any better.

Next! Elimination diet. We started with red meat (which I almost never ate) and pork (bye, bye bacon). Then seafood. And chicken. Dairy wasn’t even considered. I mean…I’m Italian, and you just took away half of my plate. There was no way you were taking my cheese.

I felt better, but not perfect. He suggested exercise, and I laughed. This was post-Army. I was on an exercise ban. I was told I would never run normally again after injuries sustained during my service. (Good thing runners are NOT normal!) So I started walking. Then a jog around the block. And the next one. I fell in love.

This is me after running my first 5k in 2009. Scary. Good thing I didn’t stop there!
20131023-095850.jpg
I’m not certain any one food was responsible for the headaches, and I could have easily gone back to eating meat. But after 6 months it was my new normal. After a year I decided I wasn’t going back. I was down to my Army weight again…although I had three kids since then…and bodies change. I still hadn’t run my first half marathon. It was barely a thought in my mind at this point, but I would…just a few months later. And even bigger changes were coming. But we’ll get to that in the next post. I think that’s enough embarrassing photos for now. ❤

2 thoughts on “My Food Journey…The Early Years

  1. That’s awesome that the diet changes helped your headaches. You have definitely transformed yourself and you look amazing! I have been a vegetarian for 2 years and waffle back and forth between being completely vegan and consuming some dairy/eggs.

Comments are closed.