Ramblings on the eve of Race Day

‘s here. The race is tomorrow. If you recall, the Fall rendition of the NorthCoast 24hr Endurance Run is to be my goal race…for the year. That’s a lot of pressure, mainly enforced by myself.

Here’s how the rest of the taper went…
Taper Week 2: 42 miles. I had planned on 40…but I’m not the exact-type as running goes. I took Monday, Tuesday, and Friday off. My foot was bothering me…first one before I ran, then the other afterward. They’d switch back and forth. I rested and iced…no relief. I stretched…no relief. I ran…no relief! I couldn’t pinpoint the pain, nor could I find a spot that hurt with pressure. My feet hurt just as much with pressure as without.

Yup…you guessed it. THIS is taper madness. There is NOTHING wrong with my foot. Neither of them. Stupid brain!

I ran 15 miles with some friends on Saturday who were running their 20 miler as a part of marathon training. Two of them had never run this far, and I was glad to talk their ear off for a few hours. On Sunday, I woke up early to pace the Fall Scioto Miles 15k with the Fleet Feet Pace Team. I wasn’t originally on the schedule due to the proximity to race day, but when I found out that a friend (Laurie) would be pacing the 2:15 finish (that’s a 14:29/mi pace), I knew the walking would be good for me. And 9miles walking without foot pain was great for my head!

Race Week: I debated taking the whole week off. I had lunchtime drinks with a friend (Thanks Ang!), and skipped my regular Monday workout in favor of rest. On Tuesday I ran 3 easy TM miles. Wednesday was my planned “dress rehearsal.” I woke up at the planned time, got dressed, made breakfast, then sat for 3 hours to simulate driving time. I read a book, knit, and watched the sunrise. Wonderful! At 9am, I ran for an hour: super easy to start, and worked up to my “race pace” towards the end. I practiced my intervals. I felt great…like I could run forever. A good feeling, since on Saturday I would be. I met friends that night for my Regular workout, and they accommodated my need to shuffle the run. Two days of rest…and here we are.

20130920-125944.jpgIt

I’m packed. I have enough clothes to wear for a week…in every possible climate. Who packs tanks/shorts AND a jackets/tights for the same event? I do. And a rain poncho, winter hat/gloves, and three pairs of shoes. Maybe four…I’m not sure yet. Everything is charging. My crew is ready (I hope!). I drank half of my coffee this morning before the shaking started. Then I wanted to throw up. I think I might cry (again). Floods of emotion. It’s difficult to explain.

Here’s the link for live race updates:
http://www.northcoast24.org

Unfortunately you’ll need flash in order to view it, so all you mobile users will need an app to view it. Don’t buy it, just switch to a desktop or laptop. I’ll wait….

I’ll also try to tweet some updates at milestone intervals using the hashtag #NC24.

One thought on “Ramblings on the eve of Race Day

Comments are closed.