Frazzled…Time to Run!

Ok. This week completely got away from me.
20130425-123403.jpg
If you didn’t know, I’m headed out of town tomorrow (wow…tomorrow is Friday, isn’t it?) for the inaugural Nike Women’s Half Marathon in Washington, DC. It’s something I didn’t actually plan on happening, but here I am.

Nike has an existing half and full marathon in San Francisco every fall, and this year expanded that series to include a half in DC. Exciting! Of course that meant there was a huge crowd wanting to do this first-time event. Thousands upon thousands. And that included a few of my local friends.

We entered the race via the lottery last year as a group. This meant we’d either all get in or none of us would. I didn’t hold my breath. I didn’t even put it on my calendar.

Then we got the news. We were in! Yeah! Crap…better get it on the calendar and cross off some other things, including a race at Mohican I was meaning to do. And ALL my spring races, It had nothing to do with the distance. The cost on this one was going to kill me. I get it. The race benefits the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. They have to get some money out of my registration fees too. Oh…and did I mention the medal?
20130425-123334.jpg
Likely the only way I’m ever getting one of these blue boxes! I can’t wait to see what’s inside!

The distance fit into my 50k/50mi training schedule perfectly. I planned on dropping back on distance in preparation for peak week next week. And I really detest the taper anyway, so I’ve been running through this one.

I haven’t been to DC in a long time, and I’m excited to run in a new city. The course looks nice with lots of sights to see during the event. I also plan on spending some time running in the area Friday and Saturday.
20130425-123356.jpg
I can’t wait to meet some of my fellow ENERGYbits ambassadors who are running the race as well…two meetups planned with them over the weekend! I hope to post some pictures from the race-related events and from my runs both here and on twitter.
Stay tuned…the excitement begins tomorrow!
20130425-123347.jpg

2 thoughts on “Frazzled…Time to Run!

Comments are closed.